Take a look at Vanishing America

by Bonnie Tate

Vanishing America by Michael Eastman

Vanishing America by Michael Eastman

I was given a great birthday present – a copy of photographer Michael Eastman’s new book Vanishing America (2008).  It’s subtitled “The End of Main Street – Diners, Drive-Ins, Donut Shops, and Other Everyday Monuments.” The “everyday monuments” gets to the heart of why this is such a great collection of pictures. The places in these pictures- from small towns and big cities – are gold nuggets of distinctly American charm. Michael Eastman makes them appear glorious in their own plain, honest way.   Some of the places are familiar to me – my hometown Panama City, Florida, and Helena, Arkansas which I posted some photos of last month. But all the places feel warmly familiar and probably would for anyone looking at them. I enjoyed these photographs so much I want to pass this title on to any photography fan that may stumble upon my blog. And here’s a link to Michael Eastman’s website ~ www.eastmanimages.com

