Stamp Collecting

by Bonnie Tate

I’ve been working on some new, larger photo blocks. Below are two brand new ones. In both of these I layered the photogram images over other materials. In the first one I used some great vintage paper from a 1950s textbook on newspaper reporting. I chose a lesson on “revealing character” of the people you write about…

Reveal

Fallen Leaves

For the next one,  I chose some old international postage stamps to mimic the colors of fallen leaves. I’ve had this box of stamps since 2001 and always play with ideas for using them. So finally I’ve used a couple handfuls!

Find these two pieces in my shop.

Actually, here’s another way I used the stamp collection ~ a 2004 portrait of my grandpa.

Who knows, maybe there’s a rare one somewhere in there…

